Morgan, Wambach finalists for FIFA women's award

12:43 PM, Nov 29, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Sao Paulo, Brazil (Sports Network) - United States forwards Alex Morgan and Abby Wambach were among the finalists for the FIFA Women's World Player of the Year award announced Thursday.

Morgan and Wambach guided the United States to its third consecutive Olympic gold medal this year, and will try to become the first American winner since Mia Hamm won in 2002. Hamm won the first two women's awards.

With 24 goals in 26 games, Morgan leads the United States in scoring this year - just one goal ahead of Wambach, who has 23 goals in 27 matches.

Five-time winner Marta of Brazil, who won from 2006-11 and was runner-up last season to Japan's Homare Sawa, is the other finalist.

Former U.S. coach Pia Sundhage, who recently left the team to coach Sweden, is among the finalists for FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women's Football. The other finalists are France's Bruno Bini and Japan's Norio Sasaki.

The winners will be announced Jan. 7.

The Sports Network

Most Watched Videos