Earnhardt Jr. wins Dover pole with new track record

4:34 PM, Sep 27, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Dover, DE (Sports Network) - Dale Earnhardt Jr. will start on the pole for Sunday's AAA 400 after setting a new track qualifying record at Dover International Speedway.

Earnhardt Jr., who is presently 11th in the championship Chase standings, turned a lap at 161.849 mph during Friday's qualifying. He claimed his second pole of the season and the 13th of his Sprint Cup Series career. It's also his first pole in 28 races at Dover.

Matt Kenseth, the current points leader and winner of the first two Chase races, will share the front row with Earnhardt after posting a lap at 161.805 mph.

Ryan Newman qualified third, followed by Carl Edwards, Aric Almirola and Brad Keselowski, who won this race one year ago. Newman and Edwards are in the Chase. The top-six finishers in qualifying surpassed the previous track record of 161.522 mph, set by Jeremy Mayfield in June 2004.

Jamie McMurray took the seventh position, while Chase drivers Jimmie Johnson and Kurt Busch were eighth and ninth, respectively. Martin Truex Jr. completed the top-10.

The remaining Chase drivers and their starting positions include: Joey Logano (11th), Kevin Harvick (12th), Kyle Busch (14th), Jeff Gordon (16th), Greg Biffle (19th), Kasey Kahne (20th) and Clint Bowyer (23rd).

Kenseth enters the third event in the Chase with a 14th point lead over Kyle Busch, his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate, and an 18-point advantage over Johnson, the five-time series champion and winner of seven races at Dover.

The Sports Network

Most Watched Videos