Baseball Writers Reject All Hall of Fame Candidates

3:16 PM, Jan 9, 2013   |    comments
Dale Murphy of the Atlanta Braves watches the flight of the ball as he follows through on his swing during a game with the San Diego Padres in 1985 at Jack Murphy Stadium in San Diego, California. (Photo by Stephen Dunn/Getty Images)
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +


  • None of the candidates for the Hall of Fame were selected for the first time since 1996.
  • Atlanta Braves favorite and two-time NL MVP Dale Murphy struck out in his last year on the HOF ballot.
  • High profile players like Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens were hurt by allegations of PED use in their careers.

Cooperstown, NY (Sports Network) - For the first time since 1996, the Baseball Writers' Association of America will not be electing anyone to the Hall of Fame.

Eligible candidates needed to be named on 75 percent of the 569 ballots submitted by members of the BBWAA, meaning 427 votes were necessary for election. Houston Astros second baseman Craig Biggio came closest by nabbing 68 percent of the vote, falling just 39 votes short of election.

RELATED | Making the Hall of Fame Case for Dale Murphy

Of course this ballot will long be remembered as the one that first featured all-time home run king and seven-time MVP Barry Bonds, as well as seven-time Cy Young Award winning right-hander Roger Clemens.

While there is no argument that Bonds and Clemens were two of the best to ever play the game, their careers have been tarnished for their alleged use of performance enhancing drugs.

Bonds, who set the all-time mark in home runs with 762 over 22 seasons and also set the single-season mark for homers with 73 in 2001, was named on 206 ballots (36.2 %), while Clemens, a 354-game winner over the course of his 24- year career, received 37 percent of the vote.

Among the other leading candidates on the ballot: slugggers Sammy Sosa and Mike Piazza and pitching Curt Schilling.

So with nobody new being elected, the Class of 2013 will feature umpire Hank O'Day, former Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert and 19th Century star Deacon White, all of whom were elected by the Pre-Integration Era Committee in December, as well as Ford C. Frick Award winner Tom Cheek and Spink Award winner Paul Hagen.

Enshrinement will take place on July 28.

The Sports Network

Most Watched Videos