Sam Hart Wins State Leadership Award Named for Former Bibb Commissioner

3:02 PM, Apr 29, 2013   |    comments
Sam Hart
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

by Lorra Lynch Jones,


- The Emory Green Leadership Award is named for the former Bibb commissioner.

- Sam Hart was nominated by Houston County Chairman Tommy Stalnaker.

- In 1997, Larry Justice was the last Bibb commissioner to win the award.

The Association County Commmissioners of Georgia awarded Bibb County Commission Chair Sam Hart with their top award Monday.

Hart recieved the Emory Green Leadership Award at the ACCG's annual conference in Savannah. The conference is attended by leaders from all 159 Georgia counties.

The award is named after the late Bibb County Commission Chair Emory Green. According to the ACCG's website, Green "was always seeking ways to improve county government so that it could better meet the needs of the citizens in those communities."

The award was first given out in 1990.

Reached by phone, Hart said he did not know until Monday that he was nominated for the award by some of his fellow commissioners and some from surrounding counties.

Hart said, "I was lucky enough to be nominated and selected. It surprised me, and I am very humbled."

Houston County Commission Chairman Tommy Stalnaker helped nominate Hart.

Stalnalker said, "Sam Hart is not only a friend to Houston County but a friend to all of Middle Georgia. Stalnaker praised Hart for his part in helping to resolve the encroachment issue at Robins Air Force Base.

Larry Justice was the last Bibb County Commissioner to recieve the award in 1997.

Other Central Georgia winners include James Ham from Monroe County in 2007, and Dr. Ira Hicks from Peach County in 1999.

Hart is serving his second term as Bibb County Commission Chairman. He is running for mayor of the new Macon-Bibb consolidated government.

Most Watched Videos