Qualifying Ends for Macon-Bibb Elections

6:47 PM, Apr 26, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Two new candidates qualified Friday to run for the consolidated Macon-Bibb County government.

They are:

--Terry Tripp, a former Bibb board of education member, who will run in District 3 on the new county commission. She is retired from Brown & Williamson and Chichester's pharmacy.

--and Jon Carson, who described himself as a semi-retired landlord. He will run in District 5.

That means 30 candidates have qualified to run for office, which includes six people in a crowded field for mayor. 

There are seven commission seat races with multiple candidates out of nine total open seats. Gary Bechtel, District 1, and James Timley, District 9, will not have formal opposition in July.

That's according to the Bibb County board of elections web site.

The qualifying period ended at 12 p.m. for the July 16 election -- the first for the newly consolidated government. 


Mayor: Joe Allen, Charlie Bishop, David Cousino, C. Jack Ellis, Sam Hart, Robert Reichert

District 1: Gary Bechtel
District 2: Henry Ficklin, Paul Bronson, Laurence Schlesinger
District 3: Elaine Lucas, Danny Glover, Terry Tripp
District 4: Mallory Jones, Beverly Olson, Theron Ussery
District 5: Bert Bivins, Louis Frank Tompkins, Jon Carson
District 6: Robert Abbott, Ed DeFore, Adah Roberts
District 7: Scotty Shepherd, Celeste Queen, Barry Bell, Eric Arnold
District 8: Virgil Watkins, Regina Davis, Charles Jones
District 9: James Timley

Former Macon City Council member Mike Cranford, who said earlier that he would run in District 7, told 13WMAZ's Randall Savage that he'd decided not to run after all.

Irving Martinez, who previously announced that he would run for District 2, also said he decided not to run.

Brandon Carlisle still has his eye on the District 2 seat, but he was unable to make it to qualifying.  He says he plans to run as a write-in candidate.

Most Watched Videos