Plenty of Players Make All-Star Football Team

3:34 PM, Dec 17, 2009   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

North-South rosters released Record-setting quarterbacks Hutson Mason of Lassiter and Connor Shaw of Flowery Branch and GHSF Daily Super 11 safety Alec Ogletree are among the marquee players selected to play in the annual Georgia North-South All-Star Game on Dec. 29 in Columbus.

Rosters released today to GHSF Daily show that the North will have a decided edge in the number of players committed to colleges.

At least 25 players on the North have committed, including Shaw (South Carolina). Mason is expected to announce his decision next week and has an offer from Georgia.

There will be five Georgia Tech pledges and five from Vanderbilt on the North team.

The South team has 13 college-committed players, including Ogletree, who plans to attend Georgia.

The South will be led by quarterbacks Malcolm Eady of Swainsboro and Terrell Brigham of Burke County. Both have had prolific high school careers under the radar of the major college programs.

The rosters are not final. The Georgia Athletic Coaches Association will be adding three players to the South roster.

The North-South All-Star Game was begun in 1938. In the 2008 game, Greg Reid of Lowndes returned two punts for touchdowns in the South's 17-0 victory. has summaries of all the games through history on its Web site.


Pos. Name School College
QB Hutson Mason Lassiter
QB Connor Shaw Flowery Branch S. Carolina
RB Rajaan Bennett McEachern
RB Ean Pemberton Grayson Austin Peay
RB Charles Perkins Collins Hill Georgia Tech
FB/TE Cole Moon St. Pius
WR Michael Bennett Alpharetta Georgia
WR Chris Boyd Roswell Vanderbilt
WR Dylan Cook Hiram
WR/FS Jake Skole Blessed Trinity Georgia Tech
TE Evan Wilson Woodstock Middle Tenn.
C Daniel Blitch North Hall Wake Forest
C Tim Wynn Mays
OL Catlin Alford Adairsville Georgia Tech
OL Morgan Bailey Loganville Georgia Tech
OL Ricky Conners Harrison
OL Ryan Marks North Forsyth Furman
OL Grant Ramsey Pope Vanderbilt
OL Kyle Woestmann Walton Vanderbilt
DL Quenton Brown Tucker Cent. Florida
DL Lacy Coleman Sandy Creek Louisville
DL Ta' Vontae Drake McEachern
DL Matthew Hardiman Avondale
DL Christian Hoard Apalachee
DT Caleb Miles Cedar Shoals
DT Don Steib Stone Mountain
LB Victor Beasley Adairsville Clemson
LB Lorenzo Bryson Tucker
LB/FB Jessel Curry Buford Auburn
LB Jeremy Grable Milton
LB Thomas Sprague Gainesville
LB Terry Williams Grayson East Carolina
DB Daunte Carr Gainesville Stanford
DB Sharrod Golightley SW DeKalb Vanderbilt
DB Dewaun Harrison Ridgeland
DB Isaiah Johnson Sandy Creek Georgia Tech
DB Demarius Matthews McEachern Ga. State
DB Jonathon Mincy SW DeKalb Auburn
DB/WR Bradley Roby Peachtree Ridge Vanderbilt

Head coach
Jimmy Dorsey, McEachern
Blair Armstrong, Banks County; Andy Dorsey, Hiram; Terry Crowder, Chattahoochee; Franklin Stephens, Tucker; Xarvia Smith, Cedar Shoals; Brian Dameron, Cherokee; Bruce Cobleigh, Harrison; Johnny Caldwell, McEachern; Bill Stewart, Etowah


Pos. Name School College
QB Terrell Brigham Burke Co.
QB Malcolm Eady Swainsboro
QB/WR Michael Palmer Northeast
RB Robert Brown Westside
RB Raymond Sanders Stephenson Kentucky
RB Tay Willis East Coweta
WR Darqueze Dennard Twiggs Co.
WR Lonnie Outlaw Wilcox Co.
WR Shavarez Smith Henry Co.
WR Lamar Zanders Peach Co.
TE/DE Larry Whitfield Monroe Hampton
C Charles Emert Statesboro Furman
OL Ed Christian Lowndes Auburn
OL Jadarius Dean Baldwin
OL Robert Gabriel Camden Co.
OL Hunter Gay Swainsboro
OL Andrew Lauritsen Warner Robins
OL Bernard Little Putnam
OL Lawrence Virgil Brooks Co.
OL Don Werden Northside (W.R.)
DL Neiron Ball Jackson Florida
DL J.C. Copeland Troup Tennessee
DL Sherrod Loud Worth Co.
DL Brandon Smith Carver (Columbus) So. Miss
DL Jeffrey Whitaker Warner Robins
LB Tevin Davis Mary Persons
LB Terrell Fitts Glenn Hills
LB Clarence France Carver (Columbus) Duke
LB Quayshon Simmons Wilkinson Co.
LB Telvin Smith Lowndes Florida St.
DB/WR Alec Ogletree Newnan Georgia
DB Corey Phillips M.l. King
DB Dontavis Sapp Valdosta E. Carolina
DB Markeist Warthen Washington Co.
DB Brison Williams Northside (W.R.) S. Carolina
DB John Willis Baldwin
K/P Joseph Mansour LaGrange Kentucky

Head coach
Carror Wright, Southwest (Macon)
Assistants Jesse Hicks, Baldwin; Joel Ingram, Washington County; Mark Ledford, Wilcox County; Mike Rozier, Henry County; Maurice Freeman, Brooks County; Charles Truitt, Monroe; Clay Hill, Metter; Jimmy Hughes, Monticello; Fred Rogers, Southwest (Macon)

The Georgia High School Association Contributed to this Story.

The Georgia High School Association Contributed to this Story

Most Watched Videos