Four Central Ga. Counties Pass SPLOSTS

9:56 AM, Mar 20, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Four counties in Central Georgia Tuesday approved penny taxes to fund projects to improve education, health and safety.

In Monroe County, an education special purpose local option sales tax -- or E-SPLOST -- passed by a 610 to 216 vote. 

Officials there say it will raise up to $29 million for schools and educational programs over the next five years.

An E-SPLOST passed overwhelmingly in Jones County, 870 to 182. It should raise up to $16 million.

Voters in Crawford passed their own E-SPLOST by a 169 to 107 margin.

In Washington County, the SPLOST will fund health and safety needs. They hope to raise almost $19 million over the next six years. Voters passed it 752 to 546.

All vote counts are final. They are not considered official until certified by the Georgia Secretary of State's office.

Most Watched Videos