Ga. State Senate Announces Committee Chairmanships

11:59 PM, Jan 14, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

ATLANTA (AP) - The State Senate Committee on Assignments has selected 27 lawmakers to serve as committee chairs for the first term of the 152nd legislative session.

The committee announced Monday night that 23 Republicans and four Democrats have been selected for committee chairmanship. Committee chairs are responsible for overseeing meetings and calling for actions on bills or issues related to their committee.

Republican Sen. Don Balfour, who was targeted in a GBI probe for filing false expense reports, lost chairmanship of the powerful Rules Committee to Sen. Jeff Mullis, a Republican from Chickamauga. Once proposed legislation passes the committee it was proposed in, it is sent to the Rules Committee for consideration.

Republican Sen. Fran Millar, who once chaired the Education Committee, has been selected to chair the Retirement Committee.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)







Most Watched Videos