Early Voting Begins in Runoffs for Mayor, Commission

3:11 PM, Oct 5, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

More than 50 people were in line at 9 a.m. Saturday when Macon-Bibb County Board of Elections officials opened the door for early voting.

Saturday marked the first day of early voting for the Oct. 15 runoff election for mayor and four commission seats on the new Macon-Bibb consolidated government.

It also marked the only weekend day for early voting during the runoff. Early voting was scheduled from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. Saturday.

It'll also be held Monday through Friday next week, said elections supervisor Jeanetta Watson. Next week's early voting times will be from 8:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m., Watson said.

During the primary, about 100 voters were listed in the wrong commission districts. Watson said those problems have been resolved and voting should run smoothly during the early voting period.

Several of Saturday's early voters said they didn't experience any difficulties in the voting process or with district locations.

At stake in the runoff is the mayor's office and four commission seats.

Mayor Robert Reichert meets former Mayor C. Jack Ellis in the mayoral race. Council members Henry Ficklin and Larry Schlesinger face each other in the District 2 contest.

In the District 4 race, Councilwoman Beverly Olson squares off against Macon real estate executive Mallory Jones.  District 6 has Councilman Ed DeFore meeting former Macon finance director Adah Roberts.

Two current council members, Charles Jones and Virgil Watkins Jr., are vying for the District 8 commission seat.

Most Watched Videos