Deal Announces 6 New DeKalb School Board Members

10:39 AM, Mar 13, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

ATLANTA (AP) - Gov. Nathan Deal has announced who will replace six suspended DeKalb County Board of Education members.

Deal on Wednesday praised the quality of the 403 applicants and said the "high caliber of the candidates reflects well on the county."

The new members are: John Coleman, a strategic planning manager at Invesco; Michael Irwin, a professor at Georgia Gwinnett College; David Campbell, a senior manager with Georgia Power; Joyce Morley, a mediator who serves on several local and national boards; Karen Carter, chair of the business and social science department at Georgia Perimeter College; and Thaddeus Mayfield, a senior partner at a business development firm.

DeKalb County is the state's third-largest school district. The system faces a possible loss of accreditation, which prompted the governor to intervene.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Most Watched Videos